Motherhood
Leave a Comment

I am a mother who..

Sometime last year I came across this post from Ronnie (on her old pinkronnie.com blog) from theshoemakersdaughter.co where she lists the type of mother that she is. At the time I did it too borrowing from her great list and adding some more of my own. You can read this below.

You can also read more of Ronnie’s great Life Captured work over at www.lifecapturedinc.com/blog – it’s very inspiring.

I am a mother who doesn’t like getting up early.
I am a mother who does funny dances for my children to make them laugh.
I am a mother who sings with my children.
I am a mother who loves making new train track designs or Duplo buildings.
I am a mother who tries to observe and wait.
I am a mother who needs order to cope with the chaos.
I am a mother who is trying to let go of the need for order.
I am a mother who gets impatient.
I am a mother who gets grumpy.
I am a mother who gets angry.
I am a mother who says “Sorry” and “I don’t know”
I am a mother who kisses my children all the time!
I am a mother who loves cuddles.
I am a mother who appreciates the quiet and the stillness.
I am a mother who falls asleep on the floor.
I am a mother who makes my children green smoothies for afternoon tea.
I am a mother who even when I am alone thinks of my children.
I am a mother who creates little scrapbooks for my children.
I am a mother who takes photos of my children.
I am a mother who writes down what my children say.
I am a mother who finds it hard to be a mother.
I am a mother who loves her bed by herself.
I am a mother who misses the baby moments when they are gone but finds all newness exciting.
I am a mother who is saddened by change but longs for it when a phase is ongoing.
I am a mother who isn’t as organised as she wants to be.
I am a mother who loves creating things for my kids (like sewing doona covers and pencil cases).
I am a mother who places a lot of pressure on herself to ensure every meal is the perfect meal for their bodies.
I am a mother who worries when something is different.
I am a mother who worries a lot.
I am a mother who misses herself and time with her husband.
I am a mother that wants to protect my children from pain and suffering.
I am a mother who is practicing the Respectful Parenting method.
I am a mother who has a lot to learn.
I am a mother who will do my best to help my children learn but will “follow the child” and wait till their ready.
I am a mother who tries to teach the value of mindfulness and stillness and the flow of emotions.
I am a mother who thinks that little boys are the best.
I am a mother who fiercely protects my children’s privacy.
I am a mother who doesn’t want my children to grow up.
I am a mother who wants my children to grow old.
I am a mother who laughs loudly and cries wholeheartedly in front of my children.
I am a mother who shows passion and excitement and does the happy dance.
I am a mother who shows her children how to love another.
I am a mother who hopes to never take my children for granted.
I am a mother because of my children.
I am a mother, and I am blessed.

Leave a Reply

